Bhutan has voted October 22nd, 2018 – Posted in: Uncategorized

On 18 October 2018, the people of Bhutan elected a new National Assembly for the third time since the introduction of democracy in 2006.

47 seats had to be distributed (in contrast to 598 seats without overhang and equalisation mandates in the German Parliament). Dr. Lotay Tshering DPT party, which only was founded in 2013, won these polls surprisingly clearly and will be represented in the new parliament with 30 deputies. Dr. Pema Gyamtsho’s from the DPT, which had provided the first prime minister (Jigme Thinley) from 2008 to 2013, got 17 seats. The party of the incumbent prime minister, Tshering Tobgay was eliminated in the primaries because only the two parties with the most votes are allowed to run for office. Nevertheless, we would like to pay our respects to Tshering Tobgay and his team for the good government’s work.

Now the people of Bhutan have spoken out in favour of change. Therefore, our Bhutan House team wishes the new government and also the opposition all the best and a successful work. We are convinced that the new leaders will govern the country with wisdom and a kind heart into a bright future.

Tashi Delek